conrad clifton

RPM Charts – January

Top 10:

1. BONOBO – Flashlight [EP] / Ninja Tune
2. DORIAN CONCEPT – Joined Ends / Ninja Tune
3. LES SINS – Michael / Company
4. JAGA JAZZIST – ’94-’14 / Ninja Tune
5. TEKLIFE – Next Life / Hyperdub
6. ARCA – Xen / Mute
7. THE KNIFE – Shaken Up Versions / Mute
8. C PLUS PLUS – Ceara / Apothecary Compositions
9. ALISON WONDERLAND – Calm Down [EP] / Astralwerks
10. LORD RAJA – A Constant Moth / Ghostly International

Top 5 Adds:

1. SOUNDS FROM THE GROUND – 20 Years Of The Best / Waveform
2. NIIA & THE RANGE – Breaking [EP] / Something Local
3. TOURIST – “Illuminate” [Single] / Polydor
4. RONIIA – RONiiA / Totally Gross National Product
5. PRODIGY – “Nasty” [Single]

Here are couple more tracks that may have escaped your attention. Conrad Clifton, who sent us his excellent debut LP Picture in Picture early last year, is back with a hot new EP called Post Post / Future Everything. Have a listen to cut below:

Mike Gao releases his debut LP, MIGAMO, today on Alpha Pup Records as well. Hear the funky opening track, Pivot, below:

Burnt Palms backstage

You Oughta Know: Burnt Palms

Burnt Palms is a bay-area surf punk trio hailing from the bay are and they are an artist that you oughta know. Their combination of the classic distorted guitars, fast drums, and perfect female lead vocals make for some of the best surf rock in the underground music scene in Northern California. They currently have two albums out and they both feature their fantastic musical blend with well-written lyrics about daily life and relationships. They currently have two shows coming up in Santa Cruz in January. One of their shows will be at the Crepe Place on the 21st and at Subrosa on the 24th. Check out their latest album, The Girl You Knew, on their bandcamp page and keep an eye out for their third album to be released later this year.


Charts & Adds 2nd week of January

Here are the top albums for jazz so far this January! This quarter’s schedule will begin this upcoming week. We will have an AFRO-BEAT show on Thursdays 4-6 and Jazz Kitty will still be with us! This new schedule will start on the 19th, this Monday!



1 HELEN SUNG Anthem For A New Day         Concord
2 NICHOLAS PAYTON Numbers         Paytone
3 ADA ROVATTI Disguise          Piloo
4 AKIKO TSURUGA Commencement         Self-Released
5 BEAT FUNKTION Mandy’s Secret        Do
6 BRIA SKONBERG Into Your Own      Random Act
7 CARMEN LUNDY Soul To Soul      Afrasia
8 HIATUS KAIYOTE By Fire               Flying Buddha/Sony Masterworks
9 JOSE JAMES While You Were Sleeping          Blue Note
10 NIR FELDER Golden Age                  OKeh


1 IRVIN MAYFIELD’S JAZZ PLAYHOUSE A New Orleans Creole Christmas Basin Street
2 MICHAEL EATON Individuation
3 ARJUN Core Pheromone
4 CELLAR AND POINT Ambit Cueniform Records
5 MARQUIS HILL Modern Flows Vol. 1 [EP] Skiptone


Ghouls on a log

Cool Ghouls at the Catalyst Atrium

Wednesday January 14th San Francisco’s jangly rockers the Cool Ghouls will be bringing their vintage psychedelic sounds to the Catalyst Atrium. Fresh off the release of their Sonny Smith produced sophomore album “A Swirling Fire Burning Through The Rye,” the ghouls are carrying the torch for the once thriving SF scene. Cool Ghouls will be joined by the organ driven psychters Mr. Elevator and the Brain Hotel and Fine Points, which features members of the acclaimed Santa Cruz act Sleepy Sun. Be sure to catch these staff favorites Wednesday night in the Atrium.
Cool Ghouls – The Mile:
Thank You Based God

Concert review: Lil B at the Catalyst Atrium

To further put off studying for finals last friday, I attended one of Bay Area rapper Lil B The BasedGod’’s #veryrare concerts at The Catalyst. Well known in the Bay for his work in rap group The Pack (who opened for him), Lil B has reached a distinguished status in the rap game through his extensive online social media presence as well as his prolific free mixtape collection available on the web. Best known for his self invented musical subgenre basedmusic, Lil B continues to expand and innovate within the hiphop genre with his stream of consciousness lyrics and eccentric selection of beats.

Read more

Gifelte Joe and the Fish vinyl

KZSC’s Muzikal Jewz presents… Hanukah Rocks!

Happy Hanukkah from DJ Oy-Dog and Muzikal Jewz.

This record is a classic from the early 80s by Gefilte Joe and the Fish, who were fronted by Rhino Records’ real-life co-founder Richard Foos (he also co-founded Shout! Factory). The group recorded as the Yiddish People during the disco craze, when they bastardized the Village People’s “Macho Man” with their novelty hit “Matzo Man.” That song is a staple on Muzikal Jewz. While “Hanukah Rocks” on this album isn’t their finest, it is so much fun to watch it spin round and round in all of its blue vinyl glory during the Festival of Lights!

Also, check out this amazing story  from the Gefilte Joe and the Fish record release party – Andy Kaufman steals the show! (via  Cigar Reviews by The Katman)

Happy Hanukkah,