Putrifiers II

Review: Thee Oh Sees – Putrifiers II

In recent years the San Francisco Bay Area has produced some of the finest garage rock acts around. With such acts as Ty Segall, The Fresh and Onlys, Shannon and the Clams, and Wax Idols calling the area home, the Bay Area has no shortage of acts to choose from. Leading the charge is San Francisco’s Thee Oh Sees, whose new album Putrifiers II is one of the best of the year.

Since their first release in 2004 Thee Oh Sees have been one of the most prolific bands in rock having put out fourteen full lengths, eight EPs, and ten singles in addition to being one of today’s hottest live bands. Fronted by singer/guitarist John Dwyer, Thee Oh Sees unique brand of frantic, grooving, psychedelic garage rock has reached new levels on Putrifiers II. Fans of older albums such as The Master’s Bedroom is Worth Spending a Night In, Help, and Carrion Crawler/The Dream will dig this record’s faster tracks such as the opener “Wax Face” and “Flood’s New Light.” Dwyer an company (including Santa Cruz loke Brigid Dawson) decided to try some new things out on this release with slower, trippier tunes such as “So Nice.” Other standout songs are the title track as well as the bouncing, cheery “Will We Be Scared.”  Really the whole album is killer so you should just check them all out.


Loud Rock Charts: 9/25

TesseracT, known for being very finicky with their vocalists, have finally found their newest singer, Ashe O’Hara, who will hopefully be a more permanent addition than their last two. You can hear a snippet their newest song “Nocturne”, which showcases some of O’Hara’s talent. Here’s to a hopefully long and bright future for Ashe O’Hara and the rest of TesseracT!

2 AMITY AFFLICTION Chasing Ghosts Roadrunner
3 BAD POWERS Bad Powers The End
4 RE-MACHINED Tribute To Deep Purple’s Machine Head Eagle Rock
5 ENGEL Blood Of Saints FrostByte

1 KATATONIA Dead End Kings Peaceville
2 VISION OF DISORDER The Cursed Remain Cursed Candlelight
3 AS I LAY DYING Awakened Metal Blade
4 THY WILL BE DONE Temple [EP] Self-Released
5 CHARIOT One Wing eOne
6 FACELESS Autotheism Sumerian
7 JUDAS PRIEST Screaming For Vengeance Legacy
8 ENCRUST From Birth To Soil Density
9 LAST VEGAS Bad Decisions FrostByte
10 I AM WAR Outlive You All Razor and Tie



birp 2

New Music

Birp has released their new September 2012 playlist! The playlist’s music genre ranges from Indie rock to various other genres and features the work of bands like Sun Airway, Wild Nothing, and Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti. Newer remixes by Teen Daze, Beat Connection, and Nicolas Jaar are also featured within the September playlist. Birp is a music site that features playlists and reviews, similarly to Pitchfork. The music site also features interviews with artists like Trevor powers of Youth Lagoon about his last album, the Year of Hibernation. For More Indie Rock music here at the Great 88 KZSC, listen to Joe’s Garage (Monday from 8:30-10:30 PM),The Kids Are Not That Revolting (Wednesday from 12:00PM–3:00PM), or Indie Babies (Thursday from 2:00-4:00 PM).

Got Twink?

Like it or not, we are well into the age of digitally enhanced music.  There is no escape & resistance is futile.  Our only defense is to sort through the truly awful with great speed & alacrity.  But every now & then, you come across a little gem of digital virtuosity.  Such is the case with, “The Broken Record” (21 musical novelties), by Twink, the toy piano band!  Actually, Twink is the brainchild of Mike Langlie.  “The Broken Record” CD is hundreds of fragments of sound taken from hundreds of vintage children’s records all mixed together with new sound elements from Mr. Langlie.  The result will delight any child’s natural sense of fun while keeping an adult ear curious with its complexity, density & overlap of sound.  True, listening to this album is akin to drinking a highly caffeinated beverage, but I say, hats off to Twink, for using digital techniques to create a sonic work of art that puts a smile on your face.


Loud Rock Charts: 9/18

Has anyone looked at the album releases on October 9th? Here’s a list of the bands that are releasing new albums on that Tuesday case you’re wondering: Deftones, Converge, Coheed and Cambria, Enslaved and of course Between the Buried and Me. That’s a pretty hefty line up. 

1 AS I LAY DYING “Cauterize” [Single] Metal Blade
2 DOWN Down IV Part 1: The Purple [EP] ILG
3 GRAVIATORS Evil Deeds Napalm
4 STOLEN BABIES Naught no comment


1 JUDAS PRIEST Screaming For Vengeance Legacy
3 FACELESS Autotheism Sumerian
4 KATATONIA Dead End Kings Peaceville
5 EX DEO  Caligvla Napalm
6 VISION OF DISORDER The Cursed Remain Cursed Candlelight
7 CHARIOT One Wing eOne
8 GALLOWS Gallows Bridge 9
9 LAST VEGAS Bad Decisions FrostByte
10 GYPSYHAWK Revelry And Resilience Metal Blade