Meow (Run) The Jewels!

The super talented hip-hop duo of Killer Mike and El-P are set to release their second collaborative studio album, Run the Jewels 2, on October 27. The pre-orders for the album began last month, and several interesting packages are available. For $25,000 The Show and Tell Package sends the emcees to your city to accompany your child on a day of school, including “personal bully protection for 24 hours”.

According to The Meow the Jewels Package, for $40,000 “Run The Jewels will re-record RTJ2 using nothing but cat sounds for music.” Much to the surprise of Killer Mike and El-P, a Kickstarter popped up to raise the funds for the package. The Kickstarter received much online attention, and various big name producers, such as Just Blaze, SKYWLKR, Baauer, Prince Paul, and Dan The Automator, offered to produce beats for the album if the funding goal was reached. With 11 days remaining for funding, over $55,000 has been raised, and Meow the Jewels is going to be a real album!

Check out the preview for Meow the Jewels, and their song from the actual Run the Jewels 2 album “Close Your Eyes and Count to F–k” below.



The Best Of Bob Marley And The Wailers New CD

Legend was issued originally in 1984, 3 years after Marley died from cancer. It quickly became the biggest-selling reggae album of all time, and it remains so to this day. Accordingly, the vast majority of the songs here have passed into the public consciousness so completely that you’ll be able to sing the chorus to them despite never having knowingly heard them before.71rqP13SVRL._SL1500_



hudmo - CHIMES

RPM Charts – Mid-October

Top 10:

1. HUDSON MOHAWKE – Chimes [EP] / Warp
2. CARIBOU – Our Love / Merge
3. GARDEN CITY MOVEMENT – Entertainment/Bengali Cinema / BLDG5
4. SBTRKT – Wonder Where We Land / Young Turks
5. RUSTIE – Green Language / Warp
6. APHEX TWIN – Syro / Warp
7. REDINHO – Redinho / Numbers
8. SLOW MAGIC – How To Run Away / Downtown
9. TOKIMONSTA – Desiderium / Young Art
10. FLYING LOTUS – You’re Dead / Warp

Top 5 Adds:

1. HUDSON MOHAWKE – Chimes [EP] / Warp
2. IREESH LAL – Ethnotronica / Self-Released
3. PRESETS – “No Fun” [Single] / Self-Released
4. BONOBO – The North Borders Tour (Live) / Ninja Tune
5. ELIOT LIPP – Watch The Shadows / Pretty Lights

The much-awaited Chimes EP from Hudson Mohawke has finally dropped on Warp Records:

…and SBTRKT has released his sophomore album, Wonder Where We Land, on Young Turks. Listen to a single from the record below, featuring long-time collaborator Sampha on vocals:


Charts and Adds: Second Week of October


1 CARMEN LUNDY Soul To Soul Afrasia
2 KIKI EBSEN Scarecrow Sessions Painted Pony
4 JOSHUA REDMAN Trios Live Nonesuch
5 HIROMI Alive Telarc
6 JULIET GREEN Think About That Self-Released
7 JASON MORAN All Rise: A Joyful Elegy For Fats Waller Blue Note
8 OTIS BROWN III The Thought Of You Revive-Blue Note
9 MALIKA TIROLIEN Sur La Voie Ensoleillee
10 HELEN SUNG Anthem For A New Day Concord


1 RAY CHARLES Genius Loves Company Concord
2 SALSA DE LA BAHIA Vol. 2, Hoy Y Ayer Patois
3 BOBBY BROOM My Shining Hour Origin
4 COOKERS Time And Time Again Motema
5 ANTHONY BRANKER AND WORD PLAY The Forward (Towards Equality) Suite


Rock Charts – 1st Week of October

This week the much anticipated new Flying Lotus record came out and managed to get both a top add from us and a spot on our top 30.

Top 10:

url-21. GOAT – Commune
2. PURLING HISS – Weirdon
3. THIS WILL DESTROY YOU – Another Language
4. BUDOS BAND – Burnt Offering
5. NAOMI PUNK – Television Man
7. LITERATURE – Chorus
9. BRONCHO – Just Enough Hip To Be Woman
10. KING TUFF – Black Moon Spell



Top 5 Adds:

e88953581. FLYING LOTUS – You’re Dead
2. SBTRKT – Wonder Where We Land
4. ICEAGE – Plowing Into The Field Of Love
5. PEAKING LIGHTS – Cosmic Logic






Here’s the single from Flying Lotus’ Your Dead:


RPM Charts – Beginning of October

Top 10:

1. RUSTIE – Green Language / Warp
2. APHEX TWIN – Syro / Warp
3. GARDEN CITY MOVEMENT – Entertainment/Bengali Cinema / BLDG5
4. REDINHO – Redinho / Numbers
5. SLOW MAGIC – How To Run Away / Downtown
6. HIPPIE SABOTAGE – The Sunny Album (Deluxe Edition) / iH2D
7. GALTIER – Main10 [EP] / Apothecary Compositions
8. HUDSON MOHAWKE – Chimes [EP] / Warp
9. TOKIMONSTA – Desiderium / Young Art
10. ODESZA – In Return / Counter

Top 5 Adds:

1. CARIBOU – Our Love / Merge
2. ANNA LUNOE – All Out [EP] / Ultra
3. LES SINS – Why [Single] / Carpark
4. BLACK TAXI – Electroshock Death Grip / No Shame
5. FLYING LOTUS – You’re Dead / Warp

We’re starting off the fall quarter with some excellent tunes this year; first up we have the title track from Caribou’s new album Our Love, a dark synth-driven dance number sure to grab you:

Also, have a listen to this beautiful remix of Odesza’s “Say My Name” from the album In Return by Slow Magic:

Be sure to check out Slow Magic’s album How To Run Away too! Its well worth a listen.

Keep rockin’ y’all,  and be sure keep it tuned to 88.1FM!